Belted Air Power...CHEVY!

A forum to alternate source of power to include Eggenfellner and other conversions.
cjensen
Whiskey Victor

Belted Air Power...CHEVY!

Post by cjensen »

No posts in this forum since March!! Since this is "my" forum *snicker*, I thought I'd shake things up a bit again... :sneaky:

So, why am I posting this thread about the Chevy 4.3L V6 solution from BAP? Well, I've been emailing Jess for over two years with questions about this coversion, and it's become AWFULLY appealing in the realm of $6+ Avgas and $4+ Mogas, and steady, if not climbing, prices of traditional engines and parts.

I spoke on the phone tonight with Jess after he asked if he could call me thru an email earlier today. I thought that was pretty cool...a vendor asking if I could be contacted! I got the feeling that Jess is one of the most genuine airplane guys out there that is offering an alternative product.

With over 1000 hours on his Buick 215 V8 Swift, and now over 500 hours on his Chevy V6 RV-6 without a single issue, it's pretty attractive. He did have one failure on his very first PSRU over the desert due to misalignment, but since then NOTHING.

It's such a simple coversion as far as auto's go with a carburater, points, distributor, and a mixture manifold block. I've talked with Ross about all this already, and he can do fuel and spark on this engine, and his stuff is SOLID.

This engine develops about 190hp at 3800rpm, and only 3500 is used for cruise power, burning 8.5gph at 180mph. Not bad...

Oh, the price? Less than $15k firewall to the prop. 8)

FLAME SUIT ON!!!! :evil:
Chad Jensen
Missing my RV-7...
Vertical Power support
http://verticalpower.com

weezbad
Class C

Post by weezbad »

if i were going to do somethoing alternative this would likely be it. i have seen 4.3 liter engines go 400,000 miles and @ 1.5 gross weight.