Going to start soon

A forum for the proverbial airport bum who just wants to talk about anything and everything related to flying. Introduce yourself here !!

Midnight Sun
Class G

Going to start soon

Post by Midnight Sun »

I have been lurking here for a little while and thought I would say HELLO. The decision to build an RV has been a long one at that but now is the time.

Some background. I am an aircraft mechanic in Eagle River Alaska and before that I was in a sheet metal shop for a number of years before that. I have rebuilt several airplanes for other people and well now it's my turn.

The down side is that I am one of those people that should not own an airplane as I am reasonably poor, But on the flip side of that I have a wonderful wife who told me to go ahead with this project and I have a place to build and the tools to do it.

In a month or so I should be starting on the RV-7 tail kit and going on from there. Who knows how this will end but I am going to give it a good shot.
Maesure with a micrometer, mark it with a crayon, cut it with an ax.

aparchment
Class C

can be done

Post by aparchment »

These planes can be built on a budget, especially if you are willing to keep the plane simple and as seems to be the case with you, have the ability to build your own engine. The kit itself isn't ridiculously expensive, it's what you put in it that drives the price up.

cjensen
Whiskey Victor

Post by cjensen »

:welcome: to RB Midnight! Antony is right...you can build it as cheap as you want, or as $$$$$$$$$ as you want! I know one guy that built an RV-6A for $30k!! I'm on the cheaper end of the scale with mine as well (I suppose that's relative), but still managed some reasonably good equipment...

8)

Keep us posted with pics, and ask ANY question you like!

:)
Chad Jensen
Missing my RV-7...
Vertical Power support
http://verticalpower.com

svanarts
Air Marshall

Post by svanarts »