7 or 8, A or not?

This is a forum to ask questions regarding the different models of Vans Aircraft. If you are having problems deciding which one to build, this is the place to go.
papakeith
Class D

7 or 8, A or not?

Post by papakeith »

I may as well get in the mix. My purchase is still out on the distant horizon, but I'd really appreciate some help with this one.

Space is a major factor. I'm a big fella, ask captain_john. 6'3 330. I'd likely be snug in any choice I make.

ease of handling is another biggie. I'm a student pilot right now. Whatever I chose has to be predictable in manner.

capacity: gotta be able to haul me and a passenger and hopefully not be at gross

My initial thoughts on which RV to build were 7,8,9 all of the A variety.

The 9a sounded appealing because of the stated lower roll rate, slower stall speed, etc. Seemed right up my alley. Sporty, but not too sporty. Where it lost me was the inability to go upside down. Right now I don't know if I want to get upside down, but I might. If I decide in the future that I do, and I have built the 9A I'll be SOL.
With that said the 9 was out of the picture.

Tail dragger or trike? I'm feeling like trike right now. It's what I'm comfortable with.

That left me with the 7A and 8A. The biggest difference I can see between the two is the seating arrangement, side by side or tandem. I'm sure there are more differences that I'm not seeing yet.

For those of you building or flying 8s or 7s, what are some of the perceived/real benefits of your plane over the other?

thanks,

Keith
Last edited by papakeith on Thu Feb 23, 2006 10:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-------
RB's #1 heretic
www.bearhawk949.com

Spike
Chief Rivet Banger

Post by Spike »

Hmmm, Honestly, I would seriously look at the numbers and crunch them with weight and balance, etc. I know I'm big (not as big as you) and with Patti she and I are bumping up against max gross with full fuel. The RV Series might be a bit of a stretch.

-- Spike