How do you guys afford this stuff?

This is a forum to ask questions regarding the different models of Vans Aircraft. If you are having problems deciding which one to build, this is the place to go.
Rod
Class G

Post by Rod »

I'm a newbie to the aviation world and am working on my pilot's license. I'm considering an RV-12, but the price is a little uncomfortable ($62,000). $62,000 and I have to build it!! The "ready to fly" LSA's are well over $100,000 and new certified aircraft are $250,000 and up. I'm not interested in the purchase of a 40 year old airplane.

I understand you can build a plane from plans, from raw materials, with a VW engine for the cost of a modest car, but the finished product isn't very practical. Why does everything in aviation have to be so expensive? It seems that the aviation industry doesn't want the "average" consumer to participate. :bang:
Last edited by Rod on Sat Apr 09, 2011 10:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

hydroguy2
Class B

Post by hydroguy2 »

Cost is relative. have you priced anything major these days? Pick any mechanized hobby and do a cost comparison, you'll be enlightened.

I work at a small Dam and have many boater/camper friends say "oh, you're a pilot with an airplane, you must be loaded"
My response: my brand new 200mph airplane is $80000, I can fly to Oregon coast in under 4hrs for a beach get away. You on the other hand, drove an hour in a $35000 truck pulling a $25000 fifth wheel camper and your wife driving her 2 yr old SUV pulling a $45000 ski boat all to spend the weekend just like you did last weekend.

It's all about choices
Brian
Townsend, MT

Rod
Class G

Post by Rod »